Your incorporation in Book of Contemporary Art.

At first I thought it was spam, but upon further investigation, it looks legit. I’ll keep you posted as to what transpires with this.

————-

 

Dear Visual Artist

Marc Moss

Found out its work quality, we considered your incorporation in the book “AESTHETICS AND CONTEMPORARY ART” produced by ATcultura.

Biographies and images of artists ; commentaries by prominents reviewers, messages and essays of Contemporary Art, will be present in this highquality book, big format, it will be distribuited on first universities and museums of the world.

Book will be edited in illustration paper, with photocrom illustrations and in a fancy box, covered by a luxe cloth binding, bilingual ( Spanish and English).

Artists invited to take part of edition, will invite by a selection criteria of quality.

Atcultura is sponsored only formally by the Government and enterprises but solicit not subsidies from they, wherefore ATcultura prefer avoid any possible conditionament, this colaborative project solicit to artists one minimum monetary contribution.

Previous books of ATcultura include artists like Caio Fonseca, Natasha de Wet, Perez Celis, Carole Feuerman, Regina José Galindo, etc. You can see in www.atculturalibro.blogspot.com or in our webpage www.atcultura.com

If would be interesting participation in this book for you, we require you as soon possible reply to: atcultura@argentina.com with a brief biography for be larged to future, adress and phone number, to be considered one of selectioned artist for receive own proposal.

You can see first confirmated artists of the book “AESTHETICS AND CONTEMPORARY ART” in www.atculturalibro2.blogspot.com

Best regards.

Lic. María Miriam Farías Iriarte

Vicedirectora Atcultura

pixel Your incorporation in Book of Contemporary Art.


16 Comments

  1. [...] Your incorporation in Book of Contemporary Art. [...]

  2. Fran wrote:

    I received the same email today Nov. 27, 2008. I googled Aesthetics and Contemporary Art and got your site.
    Do you know anything more about the email you got?
    Thanks
    Fran
    fransdollland@cox.net

  3. Kai wrote:

    I received the same email a couple of days ago, and I must say it looks very suspicious. Googled Maria Miriam Farias Iriarte – and this name actually only exists on their website, I mean – once!
    This person does not exist. I wonder what they want…our credit card numbers?

    Kai

  4. ralph Mac Donald wrote:

    I think every artist with email got this. web site looks real though.

  5. g wrote:

    i replied and recieve this email:
    Còrdoba, Argentine.
    December 2007
    Dear Gabriel,

    I send you attached the conditions and participation
    form in english and spanish for enter in the art book
    “Ahestetics and Contemporary Art”. The incorporation
    in the book includes a page with two images of your
    art work and your thought brings about the art. In
    another page the critique to your work for part of a
    specialist, all that in two languages,Spanish and
    English, and ultimately, in the list of creators, your
    resume.
    If you was supported by some art gallery or company,
    to below of the images go registers ” comity of … …
    “with address and the emblem of the same one.
    First confirmated artists in this book are in
    http://www.atculturalibro2.blogspot.com like Roy Lawaetz (23
    Sao Paulo Biennal), Carlos Basanta (Vancouver, Simon
    Fraser University, winner of Millennium project), etc.
    Also, all artist of the book can exhibit free
    inCultural Center of Cruz del Eje City, Córdoba. I
    attached a photo.
    For more information write to us.
    Best Regards.
    Dipl. Ricardo Cesar Lescano Grosso
    ATcultura – director

  6. sonia wrote:

    I just recieved this e_mail someone knows if this is fake or not?
    thanks

  7. [...] There have been times when I’ve been solicited by artist spam emails in the past.  The end result was quite interesting, and, judging by the comments, helpful to [...]

  8. pia wrote:

    Thanks for your thoughts.
    Do they want money from us and no art book is produceed, was my first thought.

  9. johanna wrote:

    Received also a email like this. You might consider: why produce an artbook with so different artists, most quite unknown (incl. myself :) and with so different quality and style? What’s the use of this? And who’s gonna buy such a book? The artists themselves. So you pay twice… Also it’s kinda strange I cannot find information about entry fees, where the book’s being sold and the price of the book etc.

  10. johanna wrote:

    a good website about scam/spam/fishing and other kinds of fraude, esp. for artists:

    http://www.bogusartfair.info/

  11. Laisseraller wrote:

    This is the second offer stating I was “the chosen one” only to find out that every artist with an email address got the same message? This is a marketing scam to make money, like all scams they have to have something real to create an illusion. Please if you do not know what to do I wrote a easy to follow how to do steps on dealing with scammer, it’s called “Report Scammer”
    http://hubpages.com/_12decfraud86/hub/Report-Scammers

  12. Received also all this emails…
    form me it was cleare, if you have to pay it must be somthing wrong. Especialy if the most artits are quite unknown… but why not makeing such a book by our selves? Lets organising this as a coorporation like the new contemporary art… what do you think? I’m good in organising… i would be part of it!
    greetings
    Corinne

  13. As everybody else, I also ended up with an invitation from Mr. Ricardo Cesar Lescano Grosso.
    Just imagine, – a book that only includes those who are willing to pay Mr. Ricardo? – Would you want to be included in such a publication?

  14. Luis Pedraza wrote:

    I also received this email today. I checked up their website and they don’t have any curatorial sense of selection in that famous book: deco painting, installation art. It’s not professional, is just for people willing to pay. They’ve launched this kind of mails in Turkey, Sweden, and Chile as well, in 2005, 2007 and 2009, but yet, I haven’t found any records or images of the book. This must be a fake.

  15. Guys, stay away from this guy. I went for it and paid almost 2 years ago. Never heard back from the guy, despite all my emails.
    It all looks pretty legit, but it is a scam.
    If this guy is still doing this, he needs to be stopped. He probably robbed hundreds of people.
    I’m going to try and see what can be done.